THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION OF THE ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

(2015-2018)

EIGHTH REPORT

OF THE

COMMITTEE ON APPOINTMENTS

IN RELATION TO THE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

COMMITTEES DIVISION PARLIAMENT OFFICE PUBLIC BUILDINGS BRICKDAM GEORGETOWN

MARCH 7, 2018

EIGHTH REPORT

Introduction

1. The Standing Committee established under the Constitution to address matters relating to the appointment of members of Commissions, pursuant to article 119C of the Constitution and under the provisions of Standing Order No. 84, has agreed to the following as its Eighth Report.

Members of the Committee

2. At a meeting of the Committee of Selection held on September 4, 2015, the following Members were nominated to the Committee on Appointments to address matters relating to the appointment of Members of Commissions:

Members from the A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance for Change (APNU/AFC)(5):

- (i) Hon. Dr. George A. Norton, M.P.
- (ii) Hon. Amna Ally, M.P., Government Chief Whip.
- (iii) Hon. David A. Patterson, M.P.
- (iv) Hon. Catherine A. Hughes, M.P.
- (v) Hon. Annette N. Ferguson, M.P.

Members from the People's Progressive Party (PPP) (4):

- (i) Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Opposition Chief Whip
- (ii) Bishop Juan A. Edghill, M.S., J.P., M.P.
- (iii) Mr. Ganga Persaud, M.P.
- (iv) Dr. Clive R. Jagan, M.P.

3. Change of Membership on the Committee

3.1 Dr. Clive R. Jagan resigned as a Member of the National Assembly with effect from February 10, 2016. Subsequently the Committee of Selection met on March 4, 2016 and nominated Ms. Bhagmattie Veerasammy, M.P., as the newly appointed Member to replace Dr. Jagan on the Committee.

4. Election of Chairperson

4.1 The Committee at its first meeting held on September 9, 2015, elected Hon. Dr. George Norton, M.P., as its Chairperson.

5. Terms of Reference

- 5.1 The Committee by Resolution No. 17 passed by the National Assembly on May 8, 2003, was entrusted to discharge the following functions in relation to the appointment of Members of the Commission established under the Constitution-
 - "(a) identifies appropriate bodies for consultation in the appointment of the relevant members of the Commission, conduct the necessary consultations and, where necessary, receive nominations from appropriate bodies;
 - (b) make recommendations to the National Assembly:
 - (i) for a consensual mechanism for the Ethnic Relations Commission, the Women and Gender Equality Commission, the Indigenous Peoples' Commission and the Commission on the Rights of the Child;
 - (ii) for the appointment of members of the Commissions with the exception of the Public Procurement Commission;
 - (iii) in connection with any other matter referred to it by the National Assembly from time to time.
 - (c) report to the National Assembly in relation to each Commission as soon as possible upon the discharge of its function in relation thereto".

Mandate

6. The Committee was mandated by article 200 (1) (b) of the Constitution in relation to the Public Service Commission to nominate for appointment by the President:

"two members appointed by the President upon nomination by the National Assembly after it has consulted such bodies as appear to it to represent public officers or classes of public officers"

Meetings of the Committee

7. The Committee held a total of twenty-nine (29) meetings.

Public Service Commission

- 8. At the 26th Meeting held on Wednesday, December 15, 2017, the Committee commenced discussion on the entities to be consulted to submit nominees to be appointed to the Public Service Commission. At that meeting, the Committee agreed and requested that the Chief Labour Officer, Ministry of Social Protection, should be written to requesting a list of all the Unions that represent Public Officers and classes of Public Officers in Guyana.
- 9. At the 27th Meeting held on Wednesday, January 31, 2018, the Committee was provided with the names of the following as Unions that represent Public Officers and classes of Public Officers in Guyana:
 - Guyana Public Service Union; and
 - National Union of Public Service Employees.
 - 10. The Committee then agreed that the above Trade Unions that represent Public Officers and classes of Public Officers in Guyana, would be invited to submit nominees for appointment to the Public Service Commission in accordance with article 200(1)(b) of the Constitution.
 - 11. A deadline for submission of nominees was given as Tuesday, February 13, 2018, requesting the following:
 - the name of the nominee; and
 - A bio-data form on the nominee.

Nominations Received

- 12. On February 5, 2018, the National Union of Public Service Employees (NUPSE) submitted the name of Mr. Vincent Bowman as its nominee.
- 13. On February 13, 2018, the Guyana Public Service Union (GPSU) submitted the names of Mr. Mortimer Livan and Ms. Patricia Went as its nominees.

The Committee's Selection Process

- 14. At the 28th Meeting held on Wednesday, February 14, 2018, the Committee considered the nominees for appointment to the Public Service Commission. The Committee noted that two (2) nominees were submitted by Guyana Public Service Union (GPSU); however, a decision was taken that one (1) name would be selected from the submission.
- 15. At the said meeting, the Members present unanimously agreed that the following persons would be nominated for appointment to the Public Service Commission:
 - (i) Mr. Mortimer Livan Guyana Public Service Union
 - (ii) Mr. Vincent Bowman National Union of Public Service Employees
- 16. At the 29th Meeting of the Committee held on Wednesday, March 7, 2018, Members present unanimously adopted the 8th Report on the appointment of Members to the Public Service Commission.
- 17. The Committee, now therefore, reports to the National Assembly that it has meaningfully consulted with the Guyana Public Service Union, and the National Union of Public Service Employees, Unions that appear to it to represent Public Officers or classes of Public Officers in Guyana.
- 18. The Committee recommends that Mr. Mortimer Livan and Mr. Vincent Bowman be signified as the National Assembly's choice to the President for appointment as members in the Public Service Commission.

Dr. George Norton, M.P., Chairperson,

Committee on Appointments
Minister of Social Cohesion with
responsibilities for Culture, Youth and Sports

March 7, 2018