#### NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2020-2021) OF THE TWELFTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

# MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE $4^{TH}$ MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION HELD ON MONDAY, $14^{TH}$ JUNE, 2021 AT 6.10 PM.

### IN THE DOME OF THE ARTHUR CHUNG CONFERENCE CENTRE, LILIENDAAL, GREATER GEORGETOWN

#### **ATTENDANCE**

#### **MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE (10)**

#### **CHAIRPERSON (1)**

Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

#### **Other Members**

#### From the People's Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) (5)

Hon. Brigadier (Ret'd) Mark A. Phillips, M.S.S., M.P., Prime Minister

Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P.,

Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Governance and Government Chief Whip

Hon. Zulfikar Mustapha, M.P., Minister of Agriculture

Hon. Pauline R. A. Campbell-Sukhai, M.P.,

-(Absent)

Minister of Amerindian Affairs

Hon. Nigel D. Dharamlall, M.P.,

Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

#### From A Partnership For National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) (4)

Mr. Raphael G. C. Trotman, M.P.

- (Virtual Participation)

Mr. Christopher A. Jones M.P., Opposition Chief Whip - (Virtual Participation) (Nominated by the Committee of Selection on 27<sup>th</sup> January, 2021)

Ms. Annette N. Ferguson, M.P.

Mr. Sherod A. Duncan, M.P.

#### **Officers**

Ms. Sonia Maxwell - Head of Committees Division

Ms. Letta Barker - Clerk of Committees
Ms. Sueanna Reynolds - Clerk of Committees

#### **COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING**

The meeting was called to order at 6.10 p.m.

#### **PURPOSE OF MEETING**

The meeting was convened for the purpose of nominating Members to the following Committees of the National Assembly:

- Special Select Committee on the Hire-Purchase Bill 2020 Bill No. 14 of 2020, and
- Special Select Committee on the Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances (Control) (Amendment) Bill 2020- Bill No. 2 of 2021.

## NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE HIRE-PURCHASE BILL 2020 – BILL NO. 14 OF 2020.

#### From the People's Progressive Party Civic (PPPC)

On a proposal by the Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., the following Members were nominated as Members of the above Committee:

- Hon. Zulfikar Mustapha, M.P.,
- \*Hon. Oneidge Walrond, M.P.,
- Hon. Joseph L. F. Hamilton, M.P.
- Hon. Susan M. Rodrigues, M.P.,
- Mr. Faizal M. Jaffarally, M.P.

\* Non-Elected Member

#### From A Partnership for National Unity / Alliance for Change (APNU/AFC)

On a proposal by Ms. Annette N. Ferguson, M.P., and seconded by Mr. Sherod Duncan, M.P., the following Members were nominated as Members of the above Committee:

- Mr. Roysdale A. Forde, M.P.
- Ms. Tabitha J. Sarabo-Halley, M.P.
- Ms. Geeta Chandan-Edmond, M.P.
- Ms. Natasha Singh -Lewis, M.P.

## NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE NARCOTIC DRUGS AND PSYCHOTROPIC SUBSTANCES (CONTROL) (AMENDMENT) BILL 2020-BILL NO. 2 OF 2021

#### From the People's Progressive Party Civic (PPPC)

On a proposal by the Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., the following Members were nominated as Members of the above Committee:

- Hon. Mohabir Anil Nandlall, M.P.,
- Hon Gail Teixeira, M.P., (Government Chief Whip)
- \*Hon Brindley H.R. Benn, M.P.,
- Hon. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P.,
- Hon Charles S. Ramson, M.P.,

#### From A Partnership for National Unity / Alliance for Change (APNU/AFC)

On a proposal by Ms. Annette N. Ferguson, M.P., and seconded by Mr. Sherod Duncan, M.P., the following Members were nominated as Members of the above Committee:

- Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.
- Ms. Amanza O.R. Walton -Desir, M.P.
- Mr. Sherod A. Duncan, M.P.
- Mr. Jermaine A. Figueira, M.P.

\* Non-Elected Member

#### **Termination of Meeting**

The meeting was terminated at 6.15 p.m.

Confirmed this day of June, 2021

..... Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly
Chairman of the Committee of Selection