## NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2020-2022) OF THE TWELFTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

# MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 5<sup>TH</sup> MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION HELD ON MONDAY, 24<sup>TH</sup> JANUARY, 2022 AT 5.20 PM. IN THE DOME OF THE ARTHUR CHUNG CONFERENCE CENTRE, LILIENDAAL, GREATER GEORGETOWN

## **ATTENDANCE**

## **MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE (10)**

## **CHAIRPERSON** (1)

Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

## **Other Members**

## From the People's Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) (5)

Hon. Brigadier (Ret'd) Mark A. Phillips, M.S.S., M.P., Prime Minister

Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Governance and Government Chief Whip

Hon. Zulfikar Mustapha, M.P., Minister of Agriculture

Hon. Pauline R. A. Campbell-Sukhai, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

Hon. Nigel D. Dharamlall, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

## From A Partnership For National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) (4)

Mr. Raphael G. C. Trotman, M.P. - (Absent)

Mr. Christopher A. Jones M.P., Opposition Chief Whip (Nominated by the Committee of Selection on 27<sup>th</sup> January, 2021)

Ms. Annette N. Ferguson, M.P.

Mr. Sherod A. Duncan, M.P.

# **Officers**

Ms. Sonia Maxwell	-	Head of Committees Division
Ms. Letta Barker	-	Clerk of Committees
Ms. Sueanna Reynolds	-	Clerk of Committees

# **COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING**

The meeting was called to order at 5.20 p.m.

## **PURPOSE OF MEETING**

The meeting was convened for the purpose of effecting changes to the Committee of Privileges.

## NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES

#### From the People's Progressive Party Civic (PPPC)

On a proposal by the Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., the Hon. Priya D. Manickchand was replaced by the Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Government Chief Whip, on the above Committee.

#### From A Partnership for National Unity / Alliance for Change (APNU/AFC)

On a proposal by Mr. Christopher A. Jones, M.P., and seconded by Ms. Annette N. Ferguson, M.P., Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P., was nominated to replace Ms. Coretta A. Mc Donald, M.P., on the above Committee.

#### **Termination of Meeting**

The meeting was terminated at 5.25 p.m.

Confirmed this 26<sup>th</sup> day of January, 2022

Mangoor Nadi

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly Chairman of the Committee of Selection