THIRD PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1976

MINUTES of the Procestings of the 89th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

THURSDAY, 26TH FEBRUARY, 1976

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, U.R., J.P., Speaker

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (50)

Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister (2)

Senior Ministers (9)

Cde. h.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Economic Development (Absent - on leave)
# Cde. H. Green, Minister of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation(Absent)
# Cde. H.O. Jack, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent - on leave
# Cde. F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance (Absent)
# Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Works and Housing (Absent - on leave)
# Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., Minister of Agriculture (Absent)
# Cde. C.L. Baird, Minister of Education and Social Development(Absent - on leave)

# Cde. F.R. Wills, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Justice (Absent)

Ministers (5)

Cde. W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour

Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information and Culture

Cde. B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House

- # Cde. O.M.R. Harper, Minister of Health (Absent)
- # Cde. C.V. Mingo, Minister of Home Affairs

<u>Ministers of State (9)</u>

Cde. M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State for Agriculture Cde. O.E. Clarke, Minister of State - Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne) (Absent) Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., Minister of State - Regional(Rupununi)(Absent) Cde. C.A. Nascimento, Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister

# Non elected Minister

Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P., Minister of State - Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara) (Absent) Cde. K.B. Bancroft, Minister of State - Regional(Mazaruni/Potaro)(Absent) # Cde. W. Haynes, Minister of State for Consumer Protection (Absent) # Cde. A. Salim, Minister of State - Regional (East Demerara/West Coast Berbice) (Absent) # Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, Minister of State - Regional (North West)(Absent) Parliamentary Secretaries (8) Cde. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of National Development Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Housing Cde. N.M. Ackman, C.C H., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip Cde. E.L. Ambrose, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture Cde. S. Prashad, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education and Social Development Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister ('5sent - on leave) Cde. M. Corrica, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Housing <u>Deputy speaker (1)</u> Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, Jeputy Speaker Other Members (16) Cde. J.N. Aaron Cde. L.M. Branco Cde. E.H.A. Fowler Cde. J. Gill Cde. W. Huss in Cde. S. Jaiserrisingh Cde. K.M.E. Jonas Cde. M. Nissar (Absent - on leave) Cde. L.E. Ramsahoye Cde. J.G. Ramson Cde. P.A. Rayman Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P. Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., J.P. Cde. C. Sukul, J.P. Ede. H.A. Taylor Cde. L.E. Willems (Absent) Members of the Opposition - Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, Leader of the Opposition Mrs. E. Da Silva

#### DFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain) Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (M.B. Henry, AMBIM)

#### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

# Non elected Minister

# (i) <u>Election of President</u>

The Speaker informed the Assembly that since his announcement at the last sitting concerning the election of a President, he had received one Nomination Paper, delivered to him on Saturday, 21st February, 1976, and signed by more than three elected Members of the National Assembly.

### (ii) <u>Leave</u>

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Burnham, Reid, Hoyte, Jack, Naraine, Baird and Corbin for that day's sitting.

#### (iii)Meeting of Guyana Branch of the C.P.A.

The Speaker reminded Members that immediately after the sitting a meeting of the Guyana Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association would be held.

## PUBLIC BUSINESS

## CONGRATULATIONS TO THE SPEAKER AND CDE. ACKMAN

The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, on behalf of the Members, congratulated the Speaker to whom the Order of Roraima had been awarded, and Cde. Ackman to whom the Cacique Crown of Honour had been awarded.

The Leader of the Opposition associated hiiself with the remarks.

The Speaker and Cde. Ackman thanked the Members.

## BILLS - Second and Third Readings

# ITEM 1 - EUBLIC CORFORATIONS (AMENDMENT) BILL 1976 - Bill No. 5/1976 published 2.2.76

The Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE PUBLIC CORPORATIONS ACT AND TO MAKE A CONSEQUENTIAL AMENDMENT TO THE RICE MARKETING ACT.

The Leader of the Opposition spoke to the motion.

Thereafter, the Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was, thereafter, taken through its remaining stages and <u>passed</u> as <u>printed</u>.

ITEM 2 SEVENTH-DAY ADVENTIST CHURCH IN GUYANA (INCORPORATION OF TRUSTEES) BILL 1976 - Bill No. 3/1976 published 17.1.76 24.1.76 and 31.1.76

Cde. Ramsahoye moved the second reading of the following Private Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO INCORPORATE TRUSTEES TO HOLD THE PROPERTY IN GUYANA OF THE GUYANA CONFERENCE OF SEVENTH-DAY ADVENTISTS AND FOR PURPOSE CONNECTED THEREWITH.

Cde. Ramson seconded the motion.

Thereafter the motion was put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was, thereafter, taken through its remaining stages and <u>passed</u> as <u>printed.</u>

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 5.20 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the Mouse, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

Ciaran S. Narain Speaker 7/3/26

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 2nd March, 1976