FIRST SESSION

1973 1976

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 95th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

MONDAY, 24TH MAY, 1976

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY'

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly, Members of the Government - People's National Congress (50)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Buruham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.F., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development (Absent - on lorve)

Senior Ministers (9)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyto, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development
- Cde. H. Groen, M.P., Minister of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation (Absent)
- ♥ Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance
- * Cdo. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Ministor of Works and Housing
- * Cda. G.A. King, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection

- * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent on leave) * Cde. C.L. Baird, M.P., Minister of Education and Social Development * Cde. F.R. Wills, S.C., M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Justice (Absent

Ministers (5)

- Cde. W.G. Carrin ton, M.P., Minister of Labour
- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P., Minister of Information and Culture
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House * Cde. O.M.R. Harper, M.P., Minister of Health
- * Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

Ministers of State (9)

- Cdc. M. Kasim, A.A., M.P., Minister of State for Agriculture
- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Berbice/ Corontyne)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Rupynuni)
- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.F., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister (Absent)
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmoutoo, M.P., Ministur of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- *Cde. W. Haynes, M.P., Minister of State for Consumer Protection (Absent)
- *Cde, A. Salim, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/West Coast Berbice)
- *Cde. F.U.X. Carmichael, N.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)
 - * Non elected Minister

Parliamentary Secretaries (6)

- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of National Development
- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Parliamentary Socretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation (Absent)
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Educatiom and Social Development
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamontary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Housing

Other Members (19)

- Cde. L.M. Branco, M.P.
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde. S. Jaiserrisingh, M.P.
- Cde. K.n.S. Jonas, M P.
- Cde. M. Nissar, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Ramsahoyo, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.n. Rayman, M.P.
- Cdc. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., J.P., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.F.
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P.
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.L., M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P., M.P.

Members of the Opposition (16)

(1) Liberatur Party (2)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Mr. M.F. Singh, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Othur Member (1)

Mrs. E. Da Silva, M.P.

(2) People's Progressive Party (14)

- Cde. C. Jagan, M.F.
- Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker
- Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.
- Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.
- Cdo. J. Jagan, M.D. (Absent)
- Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.
- Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, M.P.
- Cde. L. Lalbahadur, M.P.
- Cde. B. James, M.P.
- Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.
- Cde. R. Ally, M.P.
- Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. Dindayal, M.P.
- Cde. H. Nokta, M.P. J

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain)
Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (M.B. Henry, AMBIM)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

QATHS

The Speaker informed the Assembly that following the last election of Members of the National Assembly the Representative of the People's Progressive Party List of Candidates had extracted from that list the names of the undermentioned 14 Candidates and that these persons had been declared by the Chief Election Officer to have become members of the National Assembly:

Roshan Ally Cyril Calvin Belgrave Clinton Collymore Dalchand Dindayal Cheddi Jagan Janet Jagan Basil James Ram Karran Lallbachan Lalbahadur Sheik Feroze Mohamed Harry Persaud Nokta Narbada Persaud Reepu Daman Persaud

The following Members who were present made and subscribed the oath of office:

Cheddi Jagan Ram Karran
Narbada Persaud
Clinton Collymore
Sheik Feroze Mohamed
Reepu Daman Persaud
Lallbachan Lalbahadur
Basil James
Cyril Calvin Belgrave
Roshan Ally
Dalchand
Dindayal
Harry Persaud Nokta

ELECTION OF DEPUTY SPEAKER

The Speaker informed Members that he had received from Cde. Van Sluytman a letter dated 20th May, 1976, tendering his resignation as Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly with effect from the expiration of 22nd May, 1976. He advised Members that since that office had fallen vacant it was necessary for the Assembly to elect another Member who should be neither a Minister, nor a Parliamentary Secretary, to fill the vacancy.

On an invitation for nominations for the office of Deputy Speaker, the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House nominated Cde. Ram Karran. This was seconded by Cde. Marbada Persaud.

There being no other nomination, the Speaker declared Cde. Ram Karran to be duly elected Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

TRIBUTE TO THE FORMER DEPUTY SPE KER

The Speaker paid tribute to the former Deputy Speaker, Cde. Van Sluytman and recorded his gratitude and toanks for the assistance and kindness he had received from him.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Reid and Kennard for that day's sitting.

(ii) Tenth Anniversary of Independence

The Speaker observing that Guyana was celebrating its 10th Anniversary of Independence spoke on the occasion and outlined areas in which there were significant achievements.

He also paid tribute to the leadership of the Prime Minister during the decade.

(iii) Welcome to the People's Progressive Party

The Speaker welcomed to the Assembly the Members of the People's Progressive Party who took their seats that day.

(iv) Tribute to the Leader of the Opposition

The Speaker envisaging a change in the holder of the office of Leader of the Opposition, took the opportunity of paying tribute to Mr. M.F. Singh, for his contribution as Leader of the Opposition. He also thanked him for his kindness to him.

Replies

 $\mbox{\rm Mr. Singh, Cde. Jagan and the Prime Minister thanked the Speaker for his remarks.}$

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILLS - Second and Third Readings

. <u>WIDOWS AND ORPHANS PENSION AMENDMENT BILL 1976 -</u>
Bill No. 8 1976 ublished 28 4.76

The Minister of Finance moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE WIDOWS AND ORPHANS PENSION ACT.

The motion was put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was, thereafter, taken through its remaining stages and passed as printed.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

At 3.20~p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

Narain 16.6.76
Speaker 16.6.76

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 16th June, 1976.