FIRST SESSIUN

1973 - 1976

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 98th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

UN

WEDNESDAY, 30TH JUNE, 1976

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Speaker

Cde. Sast Marain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (50)

<u>Prime Minister (1)</u>

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, D.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

Senior Ministers (9)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.F., Minister of Economic Development
- * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation (Absent on leave)
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent)
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance
- * Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Housing
- * Cde. G.A. King, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection(Absent)
- * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture
- * Cde. C.L. Baird, M.P., Minister of Education and Social Development (Absent on leave)
- * Cde. F.R. Wills, S.C., M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Justice (Absent)

Ministers (5)

- Cde. W.G. Carrington, M.P., Minister of Labour
- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P., Minister of Information and Culture
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- * Cde. O.M.R. Harper, M.P., Minister of Health
- * Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

Ministers of State (9)

- Cde. M. Kasim, A.A., M.P., Minister of State for Agriculture (Absent on leave)
- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Berbice/ Cerentyne)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Rupununi)
- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/ Potaro)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- * Cde. W. Haynes, M.P., Minister of State for Consumer Protection (Absent)

- * Cde. A. Salim, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice)(Absent)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)(Absent)

Parliamentary Secretaries (6)

- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of National Development
- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Cooperatives and National Mobilisation
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.F., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education and Social Development
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Housing

Other Members (19)

Cde. L.M. Branco, M.P.

Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P.

Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.

Cde. J. Gill, M.P.

Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.

Cde. S. Jaiserrisingh, M.P.

Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.F.

Cde. M. Nissar, M.F.

Cde. L.E. Ramsahoye, M.P.

Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.

Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.i., M.P.

Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., J.P., M.r.

Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.

Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.i^a. Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.i^a.

Cde. L.E. Willems, M.F.

Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P.

Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P., M.P.

Members of the Opposition (16)

(1) People's rogressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Uther Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P.

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.

Cde. L. Lalbahadur, M.P.

Cde. B. James, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.i.

Cde. R. Ally, M.F.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.r.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

^{*} Non elected Minister

(2) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, M.P. Mrs. E. Da Silva, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain)
Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (M.B. Henry, AMBIM)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNUUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

<u>Leave</u>

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to:

- (i) Cde. Baird from 24th June to 11th July, 1976;
- (ii) Cde. Kasim from 30th June to 2nd July, 1976;
- (iii) Cde. Ramson for that day's sitting; and
 - (iv) Mrs. Da Silva from 30th June to 11th July, 1976.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTIONS

ITEM 1 APPROVAL OF FINANCIAL PAPER NO. 4/1976

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to consider Financial Paper No. 4/1976.

In Committee of Supply

The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, on behalf of the Minister of Finance, in accordance with article 80(2) of the Constitution, signified Cabinet's recommendation and moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That the Committee of Supply approve of the proposals set out in Financial Paper No. 4/1976 - Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates for the period ending 31st May, 1976, totalling \$80,314,714.

The Schedule to the Financial Paper was under consideration when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

Assembly resumed.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.50 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to continue consideration of the Financial Paper.

In Committee of Supply

The Committee continued consideration of the Financial Paper.

After consideration of the Schedule to the Financial Paper, the motion was put and <u>carried</u>.

Assembly resumed.

On a motion by the Minister of Finance, the Assembly adopted the following Resolution:

RESOLVED, That this National Assembly agree with the Committee of Supply in the following Resolution:

"RESULVED, That the Committee of Supply approve of the proposals set out in Financial Paper No. 4/1976 - Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates for the period ending 31st May, 1976, totalling \$80,314,714."

ITEM 2 - CONFIRMATION OF THE CUSTOMS (EXEMPTION FROM DUTIES)(NO. 2) ORDER 1976 (No. 46)

The Minister of Finance moved the following motion which was put and <u>carried:</u>

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly in accordance with section 9 of the Customs Act, Chapter 82:01, confirm the Customs (Exemption from Duties)(No. 2) Order 1976 (No. 46), which was made on 1st June, 1976, and published in the Gazette on 12th June, 1976.

ADJOURNMENT

NARAIN 3.7.76.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 3rd July, 1976.