FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1976

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 105th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

MONDAY, 13TH DECEMBER, 1976

## MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### Speaker.

Cde. Sase Narain, D.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly Members of the Covernment - People's National Congress (50)

## Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent)

# Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Primo Minister and Minister of National Dovelopment (Absent)

## Senior Ministers (9)

- Cde. H. . Hoyto, S.C., M.P. Minister of Economic Development
- Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation (Absent)
- \* Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent)
- Cdo. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)
- \* Cde. S.S. Naraine, A..., M.P., Minister of Works and Housing
- \* Cde. G.A. King, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection
- \* Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent)
- \* Cde. C.L. Baird, M.P., Minister of Education and Social Development (Absent)
- \* Cde, F.R. Wills, S.C., M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Justice (Absent)

#### Ministers (5)

- Cde. W.G. Carrington, M.P., Minister of Labour
- Cdo. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P., Minister of Information and Culture (Absent)
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- \* Cde. O.M.R. Harper, M.P., Minister of Health (Absent)
- \* Cde. C.V. Minga, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Absent)

## Ministers of State (9)

- Cde. M. Kasim, A.A., M.P., Minister of State for Agriculture Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Rupununi) (Absent)
- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/ Potaro) (Absent)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. W. Haynes, M.P., Minister of State for Consumer Protection (Absent
- Cde. A. Salim, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice) (Absent)
- Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West) (Absent)

# Parliamentary Secretaries (6)

- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of National Development
- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-cperatives and National Mobilisation
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Parliamentary Socretary, Ministry of Education and Social Development (Absent)
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Housing (Absent)

#### Other Members (19)

- Cde. L.M. Branco, M.P.
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P.
- Cde. E.H. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde. S. Jaiserrisingh, M.P.
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. M. Nissar, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Ramsahoye, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P.
  Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., J.P., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P. Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P. Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P., M.P. (Absent)

# Members of the Opposition (16)

## (i) People's Progressive Party (14)

## Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent)

#### Deputy Sneaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

# Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., N.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. L. Lalbahadur, M.P.

Cde. 9. James, M.F. (Absent)

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

# (ii) Liberator forty (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, M.P. Mrs. E. Da Silva, M 13.

# **OFFICERS**

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.... Narain) Doputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

## ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

#### Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to:

- (i) Cde. Chowritmootoo,
- (ii) Cde. Mohamed and(iii) Cde. Belgrawe

for that sitting.

#### PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILLS - Second and Third Readings

ITEM 1 - RENT CONTROL (SPECIAL PROVISIONS) (AMENDMENT BILL 1976 -17/1976 published 4.12.76 Bill

The Minister of Works and Housing moved the second reading of the following Bill:

> A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE RENT CONTROL (SPECIAL PROVISIONS) ACT 1974.

The following spoke to the motion:

Cde. Collymore

Cde. Janot Jagan

Cde. Ramson

Mrs. Da Silva

The Minister of Works and Housing was replying when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

## SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

## RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

The Minister of Works and Housing resumed his speech.

## SUS, ENSION OF SITTING

At 4.40 p.m. the Speaker suspended the sitting for ten minutes.

## RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.50 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

The Minister of Works and Housing concluded his speech.

The motion was then put and carried.

The Bill was road a second time and was thereafter taken through its remaining stages.

# TITEM 2 - FINANCIAL ADMINISTRATION AND AUDIT AMENDMENT BILL 1976 Bill No. 18 1976 ublished 4.12.76

 $\label{the constraint} \mbox{The Minister of Economic Development moved the second reading of the following Bill:}$ 

" BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE FINANCIAL ADMINISTRATION AND AUDIT ACT.

The following spoke to the motion:

Cde. N. Persaud Mr. Singh

The Minister of Economic Development replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was thereafter taken through its remaining stages, and <u>passed</u> as <u>printed</u>.

## ADJOURNMENT

At 6.06 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

S. NARAIN Spéaker

Public Buildings, Georgetown, 16th Docember, 1976.