NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 54TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1992-1995) OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON TUESDAY, 21ST FEBRUARY, 1995 IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (73)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (43)

The	e Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister					
The	e Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)					
The	Hon. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Senior Minister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip)					
The	he Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Senior Minister in the Minist of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development					
The	Hon. Asgar Ally, M.P., Senior Minister of Finance					
The	Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development (Absent - on leave)					
* The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., Attorney General a Minister of Legal Affairs						
[*] The	Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security					
The	he Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs					
The	Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health					
The	e Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry					
Mrs	. Janet Jagan, O.E., M.P. (Absent - on leave)					
The	Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture					
The	Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security					
*	Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development					
	Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President					
*The	Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Finance (Absent)					

*Non-elected Member

Mr. Moses V. Nagamootoo, M.P. (Absent) Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P. Mr. Fazil M. Ali, M.P. (Absent) Mr. Husman Alli, M.P. Mr. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P. Mr. Komal Chand, M.P. Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, M.P. Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P. Mrs. Una A. James, M.P. Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P. (Absent) Dr. Moti Lall, M.P. Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P. Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P. (Absent) Mrs. Pauline Sukhai, M.P. (Absent) Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P. Mr. Reuben A. Gilbert, M.P. Mr. Edward DaSilva, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Mr. Khadim Bacchus, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs) Mr. Samad A. Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent - on leave) Mr. Harrinarine Baldeo, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice) Mr. Joseph DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini) Mr. Eugene La Cruz, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo) Mr. Bagot Paul, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) Mr. Kum Karan Ramdas, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne) Mr. Ramrattan, M.P., a/k Balkarran (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/ West Demerara)

Members of the Minority (29)

(i) People's National Congress (26)

Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader (Absent) Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P. (Absent) Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P. Dr. Patrick L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Chief Whip Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P. (Absent) Dr. Kenneth F.S. King, M.P. Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P. Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P. Miss Amna Ally, M.P. Miss Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P. (Absent - on leave) Mr. Arthur A. Alexander, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly Mr. Simon H. Ng-See-Quan, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Mr. David Subnauth, M.P. (Absent) Mr. Reynold N. David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni) Mr. M. Idris Deen, M.P. Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Mrs. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P. (Absent) Mr. Kenrick Tyndall, M.P. Mr. Phillip Bynoe, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P. (Absent) Mr. Hukumchand, M.P., a/k Parag Miss Joan C. Richards, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Miss Gwenneth A. Brouet, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Mr. John A. Fredericks, M.P. Mr. Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) Mr. Hubert K.H. Hyman, M.P.

2.

(ii) Working People's Alliance (2)

Dr. Clive Y. Thomas, C.C.H., M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs) (Absent - on leave)

(iii) The United Force (1)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly
Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.00 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave for that sitting had been granted to the following Members:-

Mr. Edward DaSilva, Miss Jean M.G. Persico, Dr. Clive Y. Thomas, and Mr. Matheson Williams.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

<u>ITEM 1</u> - <u>MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE</u> FOR 1995

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to consider the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1995.

In Committee of Supply

The following Heads and Divisions were approved, as printed in the Estimates:-

Head	6 - Office of the Auditor General -	\$ 62,771,000
Head	47 - Ministry of Finance	2,784,074,000
Head	48 - Accountant General Department -	620,856,000
Head	49 Customs and Excise Department -	168,294,000
Head	50 - Inland Revenue Department	254,501,000
Head	94 - Public Debt	700,000
Div.	526 Ministry of Finance	2,594,400,000

Head	13 - Public Utilities Commission -	\$ 15,672,000
Head	51 - Ministry of Trade, Tourism and Industry -	89,036,000
Div.	528 - Ministry of Trade, Tourism and Industry -	4,500,000
Head	10 - Public Prosecutions	12,496,000
Head	14 - Ministry of Legal Affairs	11,175,000
Head	15 - Supreme Court of Judicature	38,256,000
Head	16 - Magistrates	30,816,000
Head	17 - Attorney General	26,219,000
Head	18 - Official Receiver	7;080,000
Head	19 - Deeds Registry	9,828,000
Div	514 - Ministry of Legal Affairs	66,200,000
Head	34 - Ministry of Health	667,350,000
Head	35 - Ministry of Health - National Hospitals -	335,401,000

The following Head was approved with the amendments which were notified to the Assembly at the Sitting on 13th February, 1995:-

Head	36 - Ministry of Health		
	Other Health Programmes	- \$	217,195,000

The *following Heads and Divisions were* approved, as printed in the Estimates:-

Div. 516 - Ministry of Health	- \$1,173,300,000
Head 20 - Ministry of Foreign Affairs	851,032,000
Div. 506 - Ministry of Foreign Affairs	20,790,000

Assembly resumed.

ADJOURNMENT

At 4.06 p.m., on a motion by the Senior Minister of Agricultum (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Wednesday, 22nd February, 1995.

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

21st February, 1995.