FIRST SESSION 1973 - 1978 DRJER PAPER 154TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY MUNDAY, 3RD APRIL, 1978 AT 2.00 P.M. PRAYERS -DATHS -ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER -PRESENTATION OF PETITIONS -PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS. ETC. -By the Minister of Finance: Consumption Tax (Amendment) (No. 2) Order 1978 (No. 37), made under section 4 of the Consumption Tax Act, Chapter 80:02, on the 16th of March, 1978, and published in the Gazette on the 18th of March, 1978. QUESTIONS TO MINISTERS -STATEMENTS BY MINISTERS -PERSONAL EXPLANATIONS -REQUESTS FOR LEAVE TO MOVE THE ADJOURNMENT OF THE ASSEMBLY ON DEFINITE MATTERS OF URGENT PUBLIC IMPORTANCE -MOTIONS RELATING TO THE BUSINESS OR SITTINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY AND MOVED BY A MINISTER -INTRODUCTION OF BILLS -Presentation and First Reading CONSTITUTION (AMENDMENT) BILL 1978 - Bill No. 8/1978 The Prime Minister, on behalf of the Government, to present the following Bill: A BILL intituled AN ACT TO EFFECT CERTAIN ALTERATIONS TO THE CONSTITUTION IN ACCORDANCE WITH ARTICLE 73 THEREOF.

THIRD PARLIAMENT OF GUYAALA

Minister of Stato (9)

- Cdo. O.E. Clavko, M.P., Ministor of Stato Rogional (East Borbico/ Ctrentyno)
- Cdc. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Dovolopment and Co-oporativos (Absent)
- Cdo. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister (Absent)
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro) (Absent)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demorara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Health, Housing and Labour
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Development (Absent)
- Cde. A. Salim, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice) (Absent)
- Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)

Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture

Other Members (21)

- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P.
- Cde. W.G. Carrington, M.P.
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde, J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde, S. Jaiserrisingh, M.P.
- Cde。K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. M. Kasim, A.A., M.P.
- Cde. M. Nissar, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Ramsahoye, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P. Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. (Absent) Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P.
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P. Cde. C.E. Wrights, M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent - on leave)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent -

^{*} Non elected Minister

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. L. Lalbahadur, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.) Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

Mr. Michael Anthony Abraham, whose name was extracted from the Liberator Party List of Candidates and who was declared to be an elected Member of the National Assembly to fill the vacancy created by the death of Mrs. Elinor Da Silva, made and subscribed the oath of office as required by Article 76 of the Constitution.

The Speaker then congratulated Mr. Abraham on his election and welcomed him to the Assembly.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Cdes. Burnham and C. Jagan for that sitting; and
- (b) Cde. Ram Karran for one month.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House on behalf of the Minister of Finance

Consumption Tax (Amendment) (No. 2) Order 1978 (No. 37), made under section 4 of the Consumption Tax Act, Chapter 80:02, on the 16th of March, 1978, and published in the Gazette on the 18th of March, 1978.

(Circulated)

REQUESTS FOR LEAVE TO MOVE THE ADJOURNMENT OF THE ASSEMBLY ON DEFINITE MATTERS OF URGENT PUBLIC IMPORTANCE

Supply of Electricity in the country

At the request of Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, permission was granted to him to move the adjournment of the Assembly for the purpose of discussing the question of the supply of electricity in the country.

It was, however, agreed that the matter would be discussed at the next sitting of the Assembly on Wednesday, 5th April, 1978.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Reading

CONSTITUTION AMENDMENT BILL 1978 - Bill No. 8 1978 ublished 1.4.7

The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development on behalf of the Prime Minister presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO EFFECT CERTAIN ALTERATIONS TO THE CONSTITUTION IN ACCORDANCE WITH ARTICLE 73 THEREOF.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 - DEATH OF CDE. DAVID ARTHUR SINGH

 $\hbox{ The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development } \\ \text{moved the following motion:}$

BE IT RESOLVED

That this National Assembly records its deep regret at the death of Cde. David Arthur Singh and pays tribute to the distinguished service which he rendered to Guyana and to its Parliament and directs that an expression of its sympathy be conveyed to his sorrowing widow and children.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud and Mr. Singh spoke to the motion.

The motion was then put and <u>rorried</u> with! ambers standing.

ADJOURNMENT.

At 2.50 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m on Wednesday, 5th April, 1978.

S NARAIN 4.75 Speaker 4.4.75

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 4th April, 1978.