THE OFFICIAL GAZETTE 16TH FEBRUARY, 2021 LEGAL SUPPLEMENT — A



ACT NO. 2 OF 2021

LAW REFORM COMMISSION (AMENDMENT) ACT 2021

I assent.

Mohamed Irfaan Ali, President.

February 16, 2021

ARRANGEMENT OF SECTIONS

SECTION

- 1. Short title.
- 2. Amendment of section 2 of the Principal Act.
- Amendment of section 4 of the Principal Act. 3.
- 4. Amendment of section 9 of the Principal Act.
- 5. Amendment of section 11 of the Principal Act.

PRICE: \$260.00 – to be purchased from Parliament Office, Georgetown, Guyana.

PRINTED BY GUYANA NATIONAL PRINTERS LIMITED

Α

No. 2] LAWS OF GUYANA [A.D. 2021

AN ACT to amend the Law Reform Commission Act.

A.<u>D. 20</u>21

No. 4 of 2016

Enacted by the Parliament of Guyana:-

Short title.

1. This Act, which amends the Law Reform Commission Act, may be cited as the Law Reform Commission (Amendment) Act 2021.

Amendment of section 2 of the Principal Act.

2. Section 2 of the Principal Act is amended by substituting for the definition of "Chairperson" the following definition-

"Chairperson" means the Chairperson of the Commission appointed in accordance with section 4(1);".

Amendment of section 4 of the Principal Act.

3. Section 4 of the Principal Act is amended by substituting for that section the following section as section 4 -

"Appointment and tenure of office.

- 4. (1) The members of the Commission shall be appointed by the President as follows-
 - (a) two members acting in accordance with the President's own deliberate judgment; and
 - (b) the other members, upon the advice of the Minister after the Minister consults with-
 - (i) the organisations that appear to represent the legal profession;
 - (ii) the private sector;
 - (iii)the trade union movement;
 - (iv)the entities representing the interest of consumers' affairs;
 - (v) the religious community;
 - (vi) the Rights Commissions established under article212G of the Constitution; and
 - (vii) the National Toshaos' Council established under the Amerindian Act.

Cap. 29:01

Α

- (2) The Minister shall nominate the Chairperson and that person shall be a full-time member.
- (3) The Chairperson and at least three other members of the Commission shall be persons appearing to be suitably qualified by-
 - (a) the holding of, or by having held office as a judge of a court having unlimited jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters in some part of the Commonwealth or a court having jurisdiction in appeals from any such court or who is qualified to be appointed as any such judge;
 - (b) experience as an attorney-at-law for at least ten years; or
 - (c) experience as a teacher of law in a University for at least ten years.
- (4) Subject to subsection (3), any other member of the Commission shall be a person who has had a minimum of ten years' experience in any of the following fields-
 - (a) banking, industry, economics or commerce;
 - (b) social or natural sciences; or
 - (c) law enforcement.
- (5) A person appointed to be a member shall be appointed for a term not exceeding three years, and on any condition as may be determined at the time of the appointment of the member by the President, after consultation with the Minister.
- (6) The names of the Chairperson and other members of the Commission as first constituted and every change in membership shall be published in the *Gazette*."

No. 2] *LAWS OF GUYANA* [A.D. 2021

Amendment of section 9 of the Principal Act.

4. Section 9 (2) of the Principal Act is amended by substituting for the words "a full-time member" the words "any other member".

Amendment of section 11 of the Principal Act.

5. Section 11 of the Principal Act is amended by substituting for that section the following section as section 11-

"Funds of the Commission.

- 11. The funds of the Commission shall consist of-
 - (a) sums allocated from the Consolidated Fund; and

Α

(b) other sums including grants, gifts, donations or endowments as may, from time to time, be provided to the Commission by any entity or agency, whether national, regional or international.".

Passed by the National Assembly on the 11th February, 2021.

Clerk of the National Assembly.

(BILL No. 11/2020)